Winners of the 12 scholarships administered by the Cheshire Education Foundation were announced at the Cheshire High School awards night ceremony May 21. The scholarship recipients and their parents will be honored by the foundation’s board of directors at a reception June 5th in the Dodd Library.

“The mission of the Cheshire Education Foundation is to enhance the educational experience of students in Cheshire public schools,” said Jane Leukart, CEF chair. “Helping a group of graduating seniors each year to continue their educations is one of the most important things we do.”

This spring nearly 200 members of the Cheshire High class of 2019 applied for the eight scholarship programs administered by the foundation. Subcommittees of the CEF reviewed the applications and selected the winners based on criteria that are defined for each of the programs.

The Mark S. Jardim Memorial Scholarship is awarding a total of $14,000 to be shared by four Cheshire High seniors. The award is named for Mark Jardim, a 1980 graduate of Cheshire High who died in the 9/11 attacks on the World Trade Center. These four students will each receive $3,500 scholarships in his memory. Calista Lonardelli of Greenwood Drive, Mark Dellostritto of Orchard Hill Road, Sydney Wang of Argyle Road and Berkley Fang of Clearbrook Place. Ms. Lonardelli will attend Quinnipiac University to prepare for a career as a doctor of physical therapy. Mark Dellostritto will study business and international relations at the University of Michigan. Sydney Wang is headed to Georgetown University to study science, technology and international business. And Berkley Fang will attend the University of California at Berkeley to focus on environmental engineering or economics.

The Greg Schena Memorial Scholarship honors Greg Schena, who taught physical education and was an athletic coach in the Cheshire and Wallingford Schools before his untimely death in 2010. Jackson Telese of Nob Hill Road and James Ilnicki of Cook Hill Road will each receive $2,000 grants. Jackson will attend the University of Louisville and major in sports administration. James has enrolled in the New Haven Electricians IBEW Local 90 Union Apprenticeship Program.

The Meaghan Welch Memorial Artistic Scholarship also honors a former Cheshire student. Meaghan Welch’s passion was the arts. This year the winner of a $3,500 scholarship is Kaitlyn Loura of Colonial Court. She will attend Villanova University this fall.

The recipient of the Lombardo Family Scholarship is Rosie Marquez of Fairway Drive. Rosie will enroll this fall at Western Connecticut State University and pursue a career in public health. She will receive an award for $2,000.

The Greg J. Florio, ED.D. Scholarship was endowed by Dr. Florio, who served as the Cheshire Superintendent of Schools for 12 years. This $1,000 award will be presented to Peter Levens of Chipman Drive who will be a freshman at Cornell University come this fall.

This year the Daniel P. Martinook Scholarship is awarded to Emily Williams of Oregon Road. It is named in honor of a former teacher in the Cheshire schools. Emily will study finance at Bryant University. The award is a one-time grant of $1000.
And the winner of the Cheshire Education Foundation General Scholarship in the amount of $1,000 is Alyssa Misiewicz of Bates Drive. She plans to study international relations and Spanish beginning in the fall semester at George Washington University.

Dr. Barry Feldman, who oversees the Cheshire Education Foundation scholarship effort each year, extended his sincere thanks on behalf of the CEF to all the generous contributors, “who have made it possible for us to provide these awards each year,” and to the guidance department at Cheshire High School for their help in the application and awards process.

Anyone interested in setting up a new scholarship program to honor a loved one can contact Dr. Feldman or Susan Generous at Cheshire High School. Dr. Feldman explains that the Cheshire Education Foundation handles the administration and selection process using specific criteria that each donor can specify for their award, and all donations are tax-free.